Voluum Documentation

Downgrading Your Pricing Plan

Why Downgrade?

If you constantly track traffic in much lower volumes than your pricing plan's limit, you might consider downgrading your plan to a lower one. You can learn more about the pricing plans' details by going to the https://voluum.com/pricing page. 

Caution

Voluum Note: The downgrade can be only performed by an Account Owner.

A Billing Cycle

You can perform the downgrade at any moment of your billing cycle, but it will be processed from your next billing cycle. Your billing cycle's start and end date will not change. There is no possibility to shorten your current billing cycle and start with the downgraded pricing plan immediately.

Downgrading Your Pricing Plan

In order to downgrade, perform the following steps:

  1. In Voluum, click the profile_settings.png button. The Settings will show up.

  2. Go to the Billing & Subscription tab. Here you can find information about the number of billed events, overage events, overage cost (charge) and other. To learn more about different event types read the What is an Event in Voluum? article.

    downgrading_final.png

    A view just before clicking the Change plan button.

  3. Click the Change plan button and select the new plan.

  4. Click the Contact us button and fill the contact form.

The new, downgraded pricing plan will be visible in the Billing & Subscriptions tab as the Next issued plan.

An Invoice

An invoice for the new pricing plan will be issued at the beginning of the first billing cycle after the downgrade. The invoice will consist of:

Base fee + Overage charges = Final payment on the invoice

where:

  • Base fee is the base fee for the new, downgraded pricing plan

  • Overage charges (if applicable) are charges for overage events for the last billing period, priced accordingly to the pricing plan in which they occurred.

Example of calculating an invoice :

  • Your billing cycle: 2019-08-24 to 2019-09-24

  • Your current plan: Grow 449$

  • Downgrade date: 2019-09-09

  • Downgrade to: Profit 149$

  • Number of overage events (that surpass your pricing plan's limit) from 2019-08-24 to 2019-09-24: 14,543,123

  • Overage price for your previous (Grow) plan: 0,05$ for 1000 events

  • Overage charges for your previous (Grow) pricing plan: 727.16$

To calculate the invoice, use the below formula:

Base fee for your new (Profit) pricing plan + overage charges for the previous billing period = Final charge issued on the invoice on 2019-09-24

where

  • Base fee for your new (Profit) pricing plan: 149$

  • Overage charges for the previous billing period (from 2019-08-24 to 2019-09-24): 727.16$

149$ + 727.16$ = 876.6$

What Will Happen with Features I had in Voluum?

Your new, downgraded pricing plan might not include all the features you previously had or limit the number of these features. Starting from your new billing cycle after the downgrade, all your features will be reduced to the level of your downgraded pricing plan automatically, if you fail to do so yourself.

  • Custom Domains: Domains added last that are above your new pricing plan limit will stop receiving traffic. You will have to update your campaign funnels with names of the remaining custom domains.

  • Multi-User: Users that exceed your downgraded pricing plan limit will be removed starting from pending invitations and then moving to the most recently added

  • Traffic distribution AI: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan, any optimized landers, offers, and paths will return to the initial weight values that were used prior to using Traffic distribution AI.

  • Shared Reports: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan, you will not be able to create any new reports or access the ones that you have already created.

  • Notifications: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan, you will only receive System notifications. Custom notifications will stop working.

  • Anti-Fraud Kit: If you have downgraded to the Profit pricing plan, the Anti-Fraud Kit feature will stop working and your stats will not be checked against any metrics.

  • Redirect modes: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan, you will only have an option to use the 302 redirect mode. The meta-refresh and double meta-refresh modes will be disabled. If you already use one of these modes in a campaign, your campaign will keep running, but you will not be able to modify it. To modify this campaign, you will have to change the redirect mode to 302.

  • Lander protection script: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan and use the Lander Protection Script, your landing pages will stop working. You need to remove the script from your landing page.

  • Advanced rule-based paths: If you have downgraded to the Discover pricing plan and use the advanced rules in your rule-based path, your campaign will keep running, but you will not be able to modify it. To modify this campaign, you will have to remove the rule that is not included in your new, downgraded pricing plan.

Frequently Asked Questions

Have more questions? You might find the answers below: